1996 Eric R. Muller - Distinguished Teaching Award

Dr. Eric R. Muller has been selected to receive the Seaway Section's Distinguished Teaching Award. Dr. Muller received his B.Sc. (Honors) and M.Sc. in Applied Mathematics from Natal University in 1959 and 1962, respectively. His Ph.D. in Theoretical Physics was obtained in 1967 from Sheffield University. The title of his doctoral dissertation is "Rotary Dispersion and Thermal Conductivity in Paramagnets."

After receiving his Ph.D., Dr. Muller joined Brock University, where he became (full) professor in 1980. At Brock, he has been organizer of annual mathematics teachers' day conferences, coordinator of enrichment programs for gifted secondary school students, and organizer of the Brock-Niagara Interface Group. He has served in many administrative positions including acting dean, department chair, and coordinator for the development for new facilities. In 1990, Dr. Muller received the Brock Alumni Award for Teaching Excellence.

In Ontario, Dr. Muller has been very active in the Ontario Association for Mathematics Education, having organized conferences. He served as Associate Editor of the Ontario Mathematics Gazette. Since 1991, he has been a member of the Ontario Mathematics Consultants Association. His mathematical Canada-wide activities have been numerous. For example, he has been executive and conference organizer for the Canadian Mathematics Education Study Group. Also, Dr. Muller is chair of the Education Committee of the Canadian Mathematical Society.

Dr. Muller was one of the organizers of 1992 ICME-7 in Quebec City. He has served on the MAA Board of Governors as Canadian representative. He has authored about forty articles and given over fifty presentations at conferences and university lecture series.

The Seaway Section's Selection Committee for the Distinguished Teaching Award consisted of David Farnsworth, Chair, Morton Goldberg, and Grace Orzech.