Minutes of the Seaway Section of the Mathematical Association of America

SUNY Geneseo April 15-16, 2016

Executive Committee Meeting

April 15, 2016

Present:

Ryan Gantner (Chair), Jonathan Cox (1st Vice-Chair), John Maceli (at-large), Steve Kilner (2nd Vice-Chair), Gary Raduns (Secretary), Jim Conklin (Governor), Charlie Ragozzine (past-chair).

Absent:

Gary Towsley.

The meeting was **called to order** around 3:15 pm.

The **minutes** were approved with the correction of the spelling of Steve Kilner.

The Seaway Section **Governor**, Jim Conklin, provided a written report and noted pending changes in the governance structure of the association and continued discussion in the Governor's meetings of the "value question" for membership. According to reports to the Governor's, "core membership" is increasing.

Gary Towsley provided a written **treasurer's report**. Of note, the Section provided some "relief" totaling \$1000 for the Fall 2015 meeting to the mathematics department at St. Lawrence University for expenses usually taken on by the host institution. Discussion ensued regarding how much financial support the Section should provide local organizers. One suggestion emerged: to keep the meal costs closer to the actual cost but increase the registration fee with a portion of the increase to help offset the host's costs.

First Vice Chair expressed thanks to the local organizers, especially for the additional logistics required for a closing plenary lecture. Plenary lectures for this meeting are Bob Rodgers for the Banquet, Andrew Simoson, Carl Lutzer and L.C. Kappe (Gehman Lecture). A survey will be given to help evaluate response to a closing plenary lecture and to gauge reaction to other programming suggestions. Online registration to permit credit card payments seemed to work well except for the necessity of a one-cent registration fee for students (no way to get free). As of April 13, 219 had registered for the meeting including 120 undergraduates. Speakers planned for the Fall 2016 at Rochester Institute of Technology are Tim Chartier (MAA Visitor), Patrick Rault (Alder Award), Christina Gomez (Randolph Lecture), and Bruce Pittman as Banquet speaker.

Chair's Report. The Chair distributed a list of Seaway Section Committees, subject to the outcome of elections at the Business Meeting. Ryan also noted the additional support to St. Lawrence University of the Fall 2015 meeting. The Executive Council also had brief discussion on whether to create a budget line for Seaway NExT (prompting questions of remaining external funds for Seaway NExT and the paper trail related to the initial grant).

New Business focused on discussion of ideas for expanding the activity of the Section. Ideas included: collaboration with HRUMC (Spring 2019 or later), adopt the St. Lawrence Univ. —Potsdam research conference, mico-courses (small fee), sponsoring MAA Project NExT fellow, hosting a larger scope undergraduate research conference, a Seaway Section Distinguished Lecturer program.

The Executive Committee Meeting adjourned at 4:55 pm.

Extended Executive Committee

The Extended Executive Committee convened at 5:10 pm.

Minutes of the Fall 2015 Extended Executive Committee meeting were approved with no objections.

The chair provided a summary of the activity in the preceding Executive Committee meeting and distributed the committee list (pending election outcomes tomorrow).

The Program Committee reported as above on the speakers for today's meeting, plans for future locations and speakers.

Student Program Committee chair Dave Brown sent a report highlighting thirty student presentations at this meeting and trends in the number of presentations over the past few years. The past four fall meetings have included 13, 13, 13, and 8 presentations respectively; the past few spring meetings 23, 16, 18, 36 and this year 30 student presentations.

The Randolph Lecture Committee reports that Christina Gomez of Ithaca College will be the Randolph Lecturer at the Fall 2016 Meeting at RIT, October 21-22.

The Gehman Lecture Committee reports that Louise-Charlotte Kappa will present the Gehman Lecture at this meeting. The committee is working to identify the next Gehman Lecturer.

Educational Policies Committee had no report.

Patti Frazer Lock will be recognized at this meeting as the recipient of the Clarence Stephens Distinguished Teaching Award. Nominations for the next recipient will be due February 1, 2017.

The Nominating Committee report nominations for the following positions with elections to be held at the Business Meeting tomorrow.

Chair-Elect: Jonathan Cox

First Vice-Chair: Cheryl Chute Miller

Second Vice-Chair: Steve Kilner

Secretary: Gary Raduns

• At-Large Member: Jeff Johannes

Liaison Coordinator, Jeff Johannes reports that despite our efforts, we still do not have liaisons for many schools, primarily among the Community Colleges and the colleges and universities in Canada. The Association's liaison program is more or less defunct.

Seaway Current editor had no report.

Seaway NExT. Matt Koetz is concluding his service as chair of Seaway NExT and will be succeeded by Nathan Reff. Seaway NExT sponsored an IBL Workshop today with approximately 20 participants.

Webmaster had no report.

In further discussions the group talked about future directions, whether to continue the closing keynote speaker, and reiterated a desire for a shorter Randolph lecture with ample discussion time following.

The Extended Executive Committee adjourned at 5:40 pm.

Business Meeting

The Business Meeting of the Seaway Section convened at 9:50 am, April 16, 2016.

Hearing no objection the minutes of the Fall 2015 Business Meeting were approved.

The following officers were elected by acclamation:

- Chair-elect, Jonathan Cox (2016-17, to serve as chair 2017-2019, and past-chair 2019-2020).
- First vice-chair, Cheryl Chute Miller (2016-2018)
- Second Vice-Chair, Steve Kilner (2016-2018)
- Secretary, Gary Raduns (2016-2019)
- At-large, Jeff Johannes (2016-2018).

Chair, Ryan Gantner highlighted a visioning discussion to be held this afternoon to discuss ways to expand the activity of the Section.

Governor Jim Conklin reported on January Board of Governor's meeting highlighting ongoing discussion of changes to the Governance Structure of the MAA.

Treasurer Gary Towsley presented a brief report highlighting balances and a small loss on the last meeting. Opening balance (9/15/2015) 15,663.41. Closing balance (3/01/2016) 15,144.57.

The first vice-chair reported on registrations for this meeting (219 including 120 undergraduates). Venues have been lined up for the next five meetings including RIT for October 21-22, 2016 and SUNY Oswego for Spring 2017. Keynote speakers for this fall meeting are Robert Rogers (banquet speaker), Louise-Charlotte Kappe (Gehman Lecture), Andrew Simoson, and Carl Lutzer. Speakers for the Fall 2016

meeting have been arranged: Tim Chartier (MAA Visitor), Patrick Rault (Alder Award), Christina Gomez (Randolph Lecture), and Bruce Pittman as Banquet speaker.

The Student Program Committee reported 120 undergraduates registered to attend and 30 undergraduate presentations. The Committee expresses its thanks to Elizabeth Wilcox for filling in as host of the student math competition.

The Randolph lecture committee reports Christina Gomez of Ithaca College as the Randolph Lecturer for the Fall 2016 Section Meeting.

The Gehman Lecture Committee selected Louise-Charlotte Kappe as the Gehman Lecturer for today's meeting and is considering a few possibilities for next spring.

The Distinguished Teaching Award Committee recognized Patti Frazer Lock as this year's recipient of the Clarence Stephens Distinguished Teaching Award. The committee welcomes nominations by February 1 and notes that recent nominees remain in the nomination pool.

The meeting adjourned at 10:03.

Respectfully submitted,

Gary L. Raduns, Jr. Seaway Section Secretary