Seaway Section of the Mathematical Association of America Business Meeting Hamilton College April 14, 2012

The meeting was called to order at 10:50 am with approximately 16 in attendance.

Cheri Boyd, Seaway Section Governor, gave a report highlighting a few items from her written report:

- Forthcoming changes in the utilization of SIGMAA dues.
- A joint statement with NCTM regarding Calculus in High School.
- Implicit bias
- Nomination of Bob Rogers for the Seaway Section Meritorious Service Award.

Charlie Ragozzine, First Vice Chair/Program Chair reported on speakers for the fall meeting to be held at Elmira College. Doug Ensley has been confirmed and we are awaiting response from John Ringland, the recipient of the Clarence Stephens Distinguished Teaching Award for 2012.

Ryan Gantner, Student Program Chair, reported on the high level of student enthusiasm and 27 student presenters at this meeting.

The Distinguished Teaching Award Committee announced the recipient of the Clarence Stephens Distinguished Teaching Award—Dr. John Ringland of SUNY at Buffalo.

Hossein Shahmohamad, Chair of the Seaway Section, gave a brief report highlighting:

- The Association's request for financial support from the Sections for Project NExT.
- Vacancies on the Executive Committee for 2nd Vice Chair (representing Community Colleges) and the 1st Vice Chair (Program Chair).
- The interim appointment of John Maceli to the new at-large member of the Executive Committee.
- Reporting the election of Gary Towsley as Governor of the Seaway Section.
- Thanks to Cheri Boyd for her three years of service as Seaway Section Governor.
- Thanks to Jeff Johannes for 5 years of service as chair of the Seaway NExT/PFF program. Matt Koetz will be assuming leadership of that program.
- Request for volunteers for the various committees of the Seaway Section.

The Nominating Committee presented Charlie Ragozzine as nominee for Chair-Elect. Receiving no nominations from the floor, Charlie Ragozzine was elected on a show of hands.

Respectfully submitted,

Gary L. Raduns, Jr. Secretary of the Seaway Section MAA